top of page

Interview With Ga-Yeon Lee (Korean Fashion Designer)

Translated & Edited by me

Q: How did you get into fashion? A: I made up my mind from an early age to apply to an Art & Design college (Konkuk University.) What to study for me wasn’t a great importance beforehand, because I enjoy many aspects, which is something you need within a creative and inspirational pathway. My main aim was to make something, without having to revolve around a specific pathway. A week before I applied, I came to a decision regarding my major. I asked the people around me “where should I apply among design majors?” The result I got was 99% of people I asked answered “fashion.” I guess this was because I always dressed up even during the middle of chaotic times being extremely busy preparing for my entrance exam. You could say fashion suits me best of all. One more story I would like to share, when my relatives came to visit I was always obsessed with the one thought that I have to dress up all the time, especially going back to when I was a little girl and relatives would make fun of me due to my offbeat dress style. Q: What inspires you most? A: I feel totally complex when I’m in nature. I live an hour away from Seoul, so it can take a lot of time traveling to school or to meet with friends, but it’s worth it. Personally, I would rather appreciate nice artwork, music and all kinds of beauty within art and design.

Q: Why did you choose to create the traditional Korean dresses? A: Korean society is homogenized. Therefore, it’s developed but there are still things to solve, especially in the art and design area. Honestly, I suffered horribly as a teenager, because of the Korean education system which doesn’t respect creative people as much. We all have to do what the teacher expects from us and there are so many students self-harming, because they’re receiving a lot of pressure to win in endless competitions. Even longingness towards respect of diversity through traditional Korean dresses, as you know my handiwork is not 100% conventional. They’re modified and modernized to my own extent. I think the Korean style is made up of beautiful imagery, but they’re not developed enough to mix them with daily life such as Japan as of yet. So, I strive to be that person who starts a positive vibe, by expressing my messages and modernizing the Korean tradition. Also, I’m interested in human rights, especially feminism and LGBT. I have currently only fulfilled one project revolving around feminism, but there will be more to come when I finish school in December. Now, I am currently thinking about a handbag inspired by nipples. This is all due to the “free the nipple” movement. Q: What’s your personal fashion style? A: Usually I wear vintage, because it suits me and it’s a nice way to save the environment. The fashion industry creates many environment problems, abuse and neglect of young children in developing countries through the cruel use of slave labour. I try not to spend my money on SPA brand (also, I hardly purchase handbags, because I can usually design them myself.) Instead, I go vintage shopping with friends. Wearing “rubbish” which is how some of the public see vintage enables me to feel like I’m doing good to the environment by reducing that litter. What’s wrong with having unique style without having to worry about walking past someone with the same Zara T-shirt as me? About style, the clothes I wear can be hard to emphasize, I just need to look at celebrities and their style to gather inspiration.

Q: Do you listen to K-pop? A: As a teenager I did, but not anymore, at that time I didn’t have to create as much in comparison to now. However, listening to music was a good way to enjoy something in a short period of time, whilst still being stressed and busy. K-pop stars are weekly trained and so good looking, thanks to the best skill of Korean plastic surgery. But they’re not artists, in my opinion musicians such as: Grimes and Lady Gaga are more influential. Q: Who is your fashion icon? A: I do not have a specific person I generally admire. Instead, I try to follow my role model’s lifestyle. Although, I have a lot of respect for Tavi Gevinson and Grimes, I think their lifestyles can be edited and copied by me to a great formation. They’re both very creative, inspiring me to do what they do. Also, their view about life is cool, that’s the type to person I aspire to become in the foreseeable future.

All clothes designed and made by: Ga-Yeon Lee


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page